Experience the Sites of the Hudson River Valley

CORONAVIRUS/COVID-19 UPDATE

The Greenway/NHA office will be closed to the public starting on March 17, 2020, and will remain closed until April 15, 2020. Most Greenway staff will be working remotely and will be available via email. 

For Greenway or NHA related questions (not including the Empire State Trail):

Scott Keller, Executive Director: scott.keller@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Shannon Day, Grants and Finance Coordinator: shannon.day@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Beth Campochairo, Trails and Community Outreach Director: beth.campochiaro@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Dan Jeanson, Project Director: daniel.jeanson@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Cody Arana, Assistant Event Coordinator: cody.arana@hudsongreenway.ny.gov

For immediate help concerning the Empire State Trail:

Andy Beers, EST Director: andy.beers@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Paul Glesta, EST Project Director: paul.glesta@hudsongreenway.ny.gov
Dara Morin, EST Project Manager: dara.morin@hudsongreenway.ny.gov

Due to the developing Covid-19 situation, several heritage sites have announced that they are canceling events, closing, and/or reducing hours. Please call the individual sites directly to inquire about the events listed on our events calendars and call our designated heritage sites directly to inquire about changes in their hours of operation.

Featured Events

Find Events

HRVNHA Circle Logo
Former Congressman Maurice D. Hinchey

About the Maurice D. Hinchey Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area

The Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area was designated by Congress in 1996 and is one of the now fifty-five federally-recognized National Heritage Areas throughout the United States. Through a partnership with the National Park Service, Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area collaborates with residents, government agencies, non-profit groups and private partners to interpret, preserve and celebrate the nationally-significant cultural and natural resources of the Hudson River Valley. In this way, we encourage public stewardship for these resources as well as economic activity at the local and regional level. The Heritage Area is managed by the Hudson River Valley Greenway.

Learn More

In March 2019, the Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area (NHA) was officially renamed the Maurice D. Hinchey Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area, in honor of the late Congressman who wrote the legislation creating the NHA in 1996. Rep. Hinchey served in the NYS Assembly before he was elected to Congress. In the Assembly, he wrote and sponsored the legislation that created the Hudson River Valley Greenway in 1991. It is not an exaggeration to say that the Greenway and National Heritage Area would not exist in the region without the dedication and love that Congressman Hinchey had for the Hudson Valley and its residents. He was a champion of the environment, who supported the Clean Air Act and was an original co-sponsor of the Small Business Clean Energy Financing Act. We are honored that our Heritage Area now bears his name.

Hudson River Valley National Heritage Area Video