Washington Irving’s Sunnyside
In 1835, Washington Irving (author of such classics as “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow” and “Rip Van Winkle”) bought a two-room Dutch stone house on the banks of the Hudson. He expanded and extensively remodeled the building, adding Tudor-style clustered chimneys, Dutch stepped gables, Gothic windows, and a Spanish tower. Irving also made the grounds more picturesque, planting trees in carefully chosen locations and creating hills, a pond, and a meandering stream with a waterfall. Today, both the house and grounds have been restored to look much as they did in the 1850s. Many of the original furnishings remain, while the wisteria vine Irving planted by the front door continues to bloom each spring. Winding trails throughout the estate afford superb vistas of the river and the landscape, and visitors can walk between Sunnyside and Lyndhurst via the Old Croton Aqueduct Trail.
Amenities: Family Friendly, Greenway Trail Access, Restrooms, Museum Shop